What I want, When I want…?

May 5, 2011 Comments Off on What I want, When I want…?

I think for so many of us, we constantly ask the question: how much can I get away with and still be a Christian? Well, grace and sin have a complicated relationship because they depend on each other and work hand in hand. No matter our age, we struggle because we want to live on the edge and still be on the edge of staying in Heaven…

However, in one sense… you can’t separate them. Cant pull them apart from each other because of their co-existence. Grace and Sin are bound together, moreover in Romans 5:20-21, Paul says this:
But where sin increased, grace increased all the more, so that, just as sin reigned in death, so also grace might reign through righteousness to bring eternal life through Jesus Christ our Lord.

Where there is sin, there will always be grace. Every time sin raises its ugly head, the grace of Jesus rises even higher like a sweeping tide and covers over it. Every sin. Every time. No matter what you do. The problem is if you just read these two verses, you could easily conclude that grace should be proportional to sin. If the more I sin, the more grace I receive, why not sin more and receive more grace? If I can do anything I want and still be saved, why not do anything I want?

Why not continue to go out and do the things I do…I am not harming anyone or myself, it’s just for fun?
Why not continue to live selfishly and keep all my money to myself, God wants me to be happy…right?
Why not continue in my old patterns of living, they got me where I am today…I can still go to heaven, right?

Because while grace means that I can do absolutely anything I want, it also means that what I want is now being informed by grace.  While in one sense you can’t separate grace and sin, in another sense grace and sin should be continually growing apart from each other. Right after Romans 5:20-21, Paul goes on to say:

What shall we say, then? Shall we go on sinning so that grace may increase? By no means! We died to sin; how can we live in it any longer?
Romans 6:1-2

For the believer who loves Jesus, grace and sin should be inversely proportional. The more grace we receive the less we should want to sin because God’s grace empowers us to live for Him. Grace will never lead you to continue doing the very thing it just rescued you from. True grace will never lead you to take it for granted by trampling on it.

Does grace mean I can do anything I want and still be a Christian? Well, the honest answer is yes. However, it means that I wont want to to anymore because I believe in something greater than myself.

My challenge for you today is this: is the reason that you are willing to push the envelope with your sin because you aren’t satisfied with what God has to offer? If it is, have you honestly given God a real shot or do you just attend church once a week and hope for the best? If you are struggling, remember that Christ died for all our sins, so that grace would cover all, but He wants your entire life to be dedicated to Him, so that He might bless your obedience and allow you to store up treasures in heaven!

“Cast your cares on the LORD
and he will sustain you;
he will never let the righteous fall.”
Psalm 55:22

“Repent, then, and turn to God, so that your sins may be wiped out, that times of refreshing may come from the Lord,”
Acts 3:19

“Therefore, there is now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus,”
Romans 8:1

“Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; the old has gone, the new has come!”
2 Corinthians 5:17

-Thanks to Pastor Stephen Furtick of Elevation Church in Charlotte, NC for this blog idea. Keep up the good work Pastor! –

Tagged: , , , ,

Comments are closed.

What’s this?

You are currently reading What I want, When I want…? at Ericmsavage.com.

meta

