Help (Book)

May 25, 2011 § 1 Comment

So I need YOU to help me with something…

I am writing a book, but I need your help. I want to include your story, so please comment or email it to me if you have something you want to share. You can do it anonymously or leave your name.

I am looking for stories when God has used an experience in your life to make you stronger. A time when you might have hated your life or had something tragic happen, but God used it to make you a stronger person today.

So, PLEASE PLEASE help me out and I would love to hear YOUR story and use it to impact others in my book.

Don’t be ashamed or afraid. God wants you to expose the darkness in your life to turn it into light. Jesus didn’t come to condemn the world, but to save it.

Thanks, God Bless!

-Eric (ems0016@auburn.edu)

“Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge him, and he shall direct thy paths.” – Proverbs 3:5-6

But without faith it is impossible to please him: for he that cometh to God must believe that he is, and that he is a rewarder of them that diligently seek him.” – Hebrews 11:6

If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins, and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.” – 1 John 1:9

Therefore if any man be in Christ, he is a new creature: old things are passed away; behold, all things are become new.” – 2 Corinthians 5:17

§ One Response to Help (Book)

  • Blythe Brock says:

    I won’t use my whole life story because that would take hours, but I’ll share one experience that has happened very recently and is still very close to my heart. First off, you should know that my whole life I have always been the one that friends and family always come to. Circumstances has always forced me to be the strong one for others. My first semester at Auburn I went through a period where I lost myself. I’ve always had self-esteem issues and a break up caused me to break down. I wasn’t eating, I was always crying, I wasn’t trying to get better, I didn’t care about myself at all. I was tired of always being the strong one, and also I had never really learned how to be strong for myself, I only knew how to help others. Without my friends I don’t know what would have happened to me. Mom took me to a doctor who said I was suffering from depression, that made things even worse for me. I was so determined not to be on medication and depressed that I actually got worse. My grades started slipping, I was way more emotional, and just was even more of a wreck. You should also know that I’ve always been known as “the virgin Mary,” everyone viewed me as the good Christian girl in high school and I was. I’ve always been a Christian, and have been working so hard on my personal relationship with him. In high school, I feel like I was a Christian, but I admit that I was a little fake. I was connected with God and always in church, talked to him every night, etc., etc. but I still had questions. I know there is a God and I trust him, but I’m very scientifically minded and sometimes at night I would think “what if it’s just all in my head and he wasn’t there, I know he is but what if” Then I would cry myself to sleep for thinking such thoughts. I always needed to have a physical representation of God near me, I went to God for help, but I really just needed a physical form of him to hold me and tell me how to get better. I waited for that and God sent it to me, funny how I’m just now realizing this as I’m writing it. And this person helped me a lot, he knew exactly how to help me because he had been there himself. I was almost back to normal when My step-sister had a horse riding accident a little over a month ago. The fact that we aren’t blood related doesn’t matter, she is my sister and best friend and when this happened my world was turned up-side down forever. She was in a coma for a week and when she woke up it was truly a miracle. No one really know’s how close to death she truly was because my family and I can’t bare to think of it when people ask. When she was in the coma, everyone back home needed someone to comfort them about Kathryn and keep them connected to her. That was my job, once again I had to be the strong one for my family and for my whole town. They needed to see that we have faith and are dealing with it as best we could. My step-dad couldn’t do it, My mom couldn’t do it, my step-brother couldn’t do it…so there was me. God had prepared me all those years for that one moment. Actually, it wasn’t really one moment, it’s still continuing right now. I have had to be the reassurance for all of her friends, I’ve had to tell them that she is going to get better. I’ve also had to be the one to be honest with her friends about her condition. This was all easier to do when she was in the coma. When she was asleep, I knew she wasn’t hurting. When I saw her for the first time awake, my heart shattered. I’ve never wept so much in my entire life. To see my little sister crying, trying to communicate with us, but having no hope in her eyes is an image I will never be able to forget. I remember I got back to Auburn and just collapsed on the floor weeping. My sister was in pain, and she didn’t have much hope of getting better. Then, she finally tried to speak and when she did she said “I Can Only Imagine” one of our favorite songs. She has fight in her and hope. I wasn’t able to see her for a while after that encounter because I still don’t know how to be strong on my own. When I went back to see her though, it was like a miracle. She was so much better that when I cried that day, it was because of how happy I was. She gets better every day and she told me she knows it’s because of all the prayers out there for her. I woke up to a text from her the other day saying “I love you silly moose :-)” and it was the most beautiful text I have ever received. This whole experience has made my relationship with God so much stronger. I’ve had those moments where I can feel him with me, but never have I felt like that constantly. Whenever I felt weak, I felt him with me making me strong. I don’t know how I ever could have asked “what if” I always wanted proof, the proof has always been in front of me in my friends, family, and my sister. My step-dad asked “why Kat? she is the best person you could ever meet. So full of life and loving.” The answer is because God knows she can handle it and he is using her for his divine work. Me becoming more sure footed in my faith is only one of the great things that is coming from this beautiful disaster. I know many more miracles will occur because of her. I’m so blessed to have her in my life.

What’s this?

You are currently reading Help (Book) at Ericmsavage.com.

meta

