What does Jesus want?

May 26, 2011 § 1 Comment

I think for so many of us we get caught up in our church, in religion, or reading books and miss the most important thing…What does Jesus want?

While being active in church, volunteering to teach sunday school, reading the newest christian novel, and calling yourself a christian are all great things…You’re missing something, Jesus. In the bible, Jesus states:

“I am the way, the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through Me” -John 14:6

So while going to church is great, you have to be careful that the value you esteem with your church is not greater than your esteem for Jesus Christ. Going to church isn’t going to get you into heaven, even if you went everyday.

So what exactly does Jesus want from me?

Well in all honesty, Jesus doesn’t need anything from you, He wants something for you. That something is eternal life in heaven, is a blessed life with everything you could ever want, a happy marriage, and so much more. But it isn’t going to come to you if you seek it for yourself, you have to let Him provide it for you.

So what exactly does Jesus want from me?

Jesus isn’t about the logistics and worrying about how things are getting accomplished, He’s about the people. Jesus isn’t about wasting time debating the color of the walls or the material.  He commands us to live a certain way to give us something better, not keep us from being happy. 

So what is it, exactly, that Jesus wants from me?

Through countless stories in the bible, Jesus never asked “have you sinned?” or stated “You’re going to hell for that”. Instead, Jesus exposed peoples sicknesses, sins, and flaws so that they would know He was the Messiah, the Son of God. Jesus doesn’t want you to hide your sin from him, He doesn’t want you to be ashamed of your mistakes. Rather, Jesus wants you to expose your sins to Him, so that He can cleanse them with just a touch of His hand or a drop of His blood He sacrificed for you on the cross. Jesus wasn’t looking for how much good people were doing, He was looking for the people that wanted something more and would allow themselves to be used by Him. 

God isn’t looking down from heaven with a telescope and scoreboard figuring out exactly all the good deeds we are doing. We don’t have it and God doesn’t want our good deeds because He is greater than that. It’s not about what is wrong or right for our life, it’s about finding out what’s keeping us from His plan for our life.

God uses pain as His platform for His glory. Why? Because each and every person, regardless of race, gender, or economic status can relate to pain. Having a stake driven through your hands and feet is just as painful for the african tribe member as it is the CEO of XYZ corporation. God wants to use your pain as a platform to be glorified in your story for others to see. We all try to runaway from painful situations, try to keep it deep down inside instead of taking it head on. However, Jesus knew that the ultimate pain would lead to the ultimate gain for you and for me. He wants to use the most painful situation in your life to be the biggest breakthrough in your witness to others and empower the dead-sin inside of you to be a story for others to hear.

The Lord is my light and my salvation; whom shall I fear? The Lord is the stronghold of my life; of whom shall I be afraid? Though an army encamp against me, my heart shall not fear; though war rise up against me, yet I will be confident. (Psalm 27: 1, 3)

Why are you cast down, O my soul, and why are you disquieted within me? Hope in God; for I shall again praise him, my help and my God. By day the Lord commands his steadfast love, and at night his son is with me, a prayer to the God of my life. (Psalm 42: 5,8)

When I called, you answered me; you made me bold and stouthearted. (Psalm 138:3)

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ One Response to What does Jesus want?

What’s this?

You are currently reading What does Jesus want? at Ericmsavage.com.

meta

