The Difference

June 6, 2011 § 9 Comments

What makes being a sold out christian different from only cracking my bible open on sundays?

So I think for many of us we are content with getting by in life. We are content with getting average grades on tests, content with dating an average partner, content with having an average job that requires no effort, and content with having an average relationship with God that is just enough to get us in heaven.

We’re content with just getting into heaven, rather than storing up treasures in heaven.

Engaging your faith allows you to enable your potential. See, we all go to church on easter and christmas- and when a friend invites us or something bad happens we head off to church. Or there’s the type that you go to church every week, but you don’t take any notes or can’t even remember what scripture the preacher used in the sermon yesterday. If we engage our faith by feeding it with Gods word, we enable our calling in life to be revealed to us.

Question: If I confessed I was a sinner, recieved Christ as my Lord and Savior, but never went to church or read the bible…Would I go to heaven?

Answer: Yes*

*However, why would you waste your time believing in something that you never even make an effort with? Why would you register with the republican party, but never vote for a republican candidate? Why would you profess to be a christian, but never do anything about it?

The true difference for your life lies in this question: Why would I serve a god that couldn’t even save himself?

Muhammad, Buddha, and Gandhi couldn’t even save themselves, so why would you live on their principles?

Jesus was strong enough to save himself and the entire world; He conquered death and rose again on the 3rd day.

So why would you waste your time following somebody or something that couldn’t even same themselves? Why are you wasting your life away not acting on the most powerful force that created this world?

The true difference in your life that you have been waiting for; that rescue from fear, the hope, the belonging, the sense of someone caring for you is right in-front of you. Jesus conquered death, so that you could live to be a difference- not sit around and not make a difference. The difference between being a church attendee and being a vessel of God is whether or not you esteem the difference for your life that Jesus gave you when He was crucified.

Many people believe that Jesus was real. Atheist accept that Jesus was once alive, Muslims believe Jesus was once alive, but neither esteem Christ.

When you esteem Christ for what He did, you cherish the pain, agony, and brutal beatings He went through for you.

Why wouldn’t you give your all to the person that gave you His all by going through more pain and agony than you can even think of?

You’re willing to give up your thoughts, actions, and money to people in this world that wouldn’t even stand up for you if someone was making fun of you- they don’t even care about you one bit. Jesus gave his entire life just for you and you don’t even give him the time of day.

The true difference in your life is whether you esteem Christ for what He did or if you believe and accept what He did.

Matthew 6:20 – But store up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where moth and rust do not destroy, and where thieves do not break in and steal.

Galatians 2:20 -I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me. The life I live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me. 

Matthew 6:24 No one can serve two masters. Either he will hate the one and love the other, or he will be devoted to the one and despise the other. You cannot serve both God and Money

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 9 Responses to The Difference

  • Griffin says:

    Saying you love Jesus but don’t like church is like telling a guy “Hey, I like you but I hate your wife”. It just doesn’t work out. Not sure what you mean by ‘receive Jesus’ but if that means being washed in the regeneration of the Holy Spirit by putting your faith in Jesus Christ (i.e. whole trust not just committing you’re a sinner etc) , not some superficial sinner’s prayer, out of that comes works. The most terrifying verse in the Bible says God will turn away some who say “Lord, Lord…”. A false assurance that people can live like Hell and think they’re saved is dangerous and damning. I am with you on some of this, but a bit sounds like easy believism.

    Let me summarize: You said, “The true difference in your life is whether you esteem Christ for what He did or if you believe and accept what He did.” I think the truth of the Gospel is not an either or. It is that through Christ alone, through faith alone we can both esteem him, have total faith and trust in Him, and do what he says. There is no other way. James 1:22 may be a verse to add there at the end.

    Hope this came off right and not just as some e-doctrine policeman. Blessings.

    • I agree with what you said, I think you may have just misinterpreted what I was saying. The point of the post was to show that YES if you believe in Jesus you’re going to go to heaven, no matter how much you go to church or read your bible. The bible tells us that we cannot earn our faith or place in heaven (ex: hours spent studying the bible or going to church), but we receive it as a gift. “NOT BY WORKS of righteousness which we have done, but according to his mercy he saved us, by the washing of regeneration, and renewing of the Holy Ghost” (Titus 3:5)….

      So, what I am stating is that yes you’re going to heaven, but there is a major difference in whether you esteem (def: held in high regard) Christ rather than just believing in Him. See, you can walk up to anyone on this Earth and they will agree that Jesus was alive and came to Earth. However, if you hold something in high regard you are willing to make sacrifices for it, live for it, die for it, cherish it- not enough people are doing that these days.

      My point is thus: If you hold your relationship with Christ in high regard, you are going to be more willing to make sacrifices for His purpose for your life and be willing to seek Him. If you accept Him, then you may or may not be living the life He wants you to live.

      THIS POST IS NOT meant to encourage people to live as they like and still get to go to heaven, maybe I wasn’t as clear as I was trying to be. However, Jesus covered all ours sins on the cross for now and forevermore.

      Thanks for the feedback, hope this clarified some things.

  • In your post you stated: “The true difference for your life lies in this question: Why would I serve a god that couldn’t even save himself?

    Muhammad, Buddha, and Gandhi couldn’t even save themselves, so why would you live on their principles?”

    As a Buddhist may I contribute that the question is loaded. The Buddha could not save himself from eternal damnation (which I assume is what you’re referring to) because in Buddhism there is no eternal damnation. The buddha’s teachings show us a path to end the sufferring that comes from attachment… a sufferring that Buddhist believe is universal… and a path to aleviate the suffering of others. That is why I live by Buddhist principles.

    thank you for the opportunity to contribute to your discussion

  • The reason I (and millions in other countries, more in number than Christians) can live by principles offered by Gandhi and Buddha, as well as by those Jesus teaches is quite simple. In most substantial ways, they are identical. The most important emphasis by far with all three is upon the practice of love and compassion, and it must be applied to all universally, including those you might term “enemies”.

    Of course Gandhi himself adopted the practice of passive resistance from Jesus, acknowledged the source of the inspiration, and planted the seeds that brought down the empire oppressing his people. Later Dr. King took up the same light from Jesus and Gandhi, acknowledging them both as inspirations, and he worked to free us all further. The Dalai Lama is part of the same company as Archbishop Tutu, speaking truth to power and offering compassion for all. If all the deserving aren’t qualified for heaven, it’s not a heaven I want to go to.

    • Griffin says:

      There are no deserving. There are no qualified. There is only Christ, and those covered by his blood. As the Buddhist above said you can’t speak of Buddha’s eternal damnation b/c he doesn’t believe in it, in the same way you can not speak of qualified or deserving within Christianity since there are none.

      • Well, “covered by his blood” would be a qualification. You are proposing that as a specific criterion for eligibility. That’s what qualification means. I believe those who serve God get into heaven, including non-Christians. I don’t separate the world into the saved and unsaved. I separate it into those who seek inclusiveness, and those whose emphasis is on exclusivity. I acknowledge Jesus myself, but I know there are sanctified persons who do not. If they live in the service of love, they are the ones who I want to spend eternity with. I don’t care at all how the expression of culture shapes their understanding of the identity of God.

  • We’ve had a great discussion on here, lets keep up being respectful and hearing one another out!

    Actually, it’s a gift- not a qualification. Romans 6:23 “For the wages of sin is death, but the free gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord.” That’s the beauty of it in my eyes, there are no qualifications; it’s a free gift from God to us because He loves us and wants to spend eternity with us.

    I think you’ve brought up an interesting point. However, I am glad that we aren’t the ones that decide who and who does not go to heaven. There has to be a way for someone to or not to get into heaven, because if it was up to us we would live however we wanted to and then expect to go to heaven- without having a sense or right and wrong.

    If you are a christian, which I am still unsure of where you stand, then we base our life on the instructions that God gives us in the bible as to how we get to heaven. Moreover, the bible tells us that: “For by grace you have been saved through faith. And this is not your own doing; it is the gift of God, not a result of works, so that no one may boast.” —Ephesians 2:8-9 and that the only way we can get to God the Father (heaven) is by believing in Jesus.

    Also, you are right that many people that are “sanctified” do not live by christian standards.

    As for me, I live off of what the bible tells me and base my decisions off of that.

    • I identify myself as a Christian, and am comfortable with the fact that some more orthodox Christians don’t think I have a right to that title. I believe that God decides, as you do. I do not accept that the Bible is free from error, though I believe it to be divinely inspired. For one small example, the Bible accepts slavery as a normal part of life, because slavery was normal when it was written. Slavery is, however, a great and unjustifiable evil, under all circumstances. But that’s the kind of contradiction that exists all through history, like the fact that slave-owners were among our nation’s founders. I do not hold scripture above all other authority, but try to balance scripture, tradition and reason co-equally. God gave me a human brain, a superior tool for understanding. I believe I can only honor and thank God by using to as full an extent as possible.

      I do not think all the books of the Bible hold equal weight and validity, nor even that all Gospels are created equal. Paul’s letters are letters, part of missionary work, written for specific audiences in specific contexts. The Gospels are for everyone, but it’s also clear that John, written much later, was fashioned in a way to solve some of the contentious issues of the early church. Likewise Revelation being encoded prophetic metaphor, written by a man in danger if he wrote directly about the fall of Rome. There’s also the extremely complicated problems inherent in translation. All modern Bible versions utilize paraphrasing under a translation tradition known as “functional equivalence”. Only advanced scholars of Greek and Hebrew even know what is actually written in the Bible. Ordinary readers have only the paraphrases scholars choose in order to allow more to understand by using the language of whatever times are at hand when a version comes out.

      I do appreciate civil discourse and honest examination. These areas of understanding do provoke deep emotion. That’s been true at least since the early council when St. Nicholas stepped up and slapped one of the younger delegates. I am still trying to learn more of the truth in all depth and subtlety, as I have been for over 50 years. I accept that I have often been wrong, and will be again, and there is much I may never be able to understand. For the things I don’t understand, I pray to find humility.

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Difference at Ericmsavage.com.

meta

