Truelife: I am human

June 22, 2011 Comments Off on Truelife: I am human

**Please read this entire post, I will make sense of it all at the end**

Everyday I wakeup wishing that I had someone to wake up to. I wake up thinking how nice it must be to have someone that might actually care about who I am for the way that I am. I wake up and instantly plan how much time I am going to spend at the gym because I am unsatisfied with the way I look everyday I wake up.

I check my bank account stressing about the year ahead, just wondering if I am going to have enough money to get by this year. I hurry off to work, always hoping for someone trying to drop their shift, so that I can make more money.

I go about my day watching all the pretty people walk by, wishing I was one of them- lusting with my eyes. Wondering what it would be like to have a significant other in my life. Missing the ability to hug and hold hands with someone, knowing they feel the same way about me as I do about them.

I think about all the times I have messed up in my life and get shivers thinking about it, hoping that God could forgive me for what I’ve done. Always fighting my thoughts and images of the past as they haunt the present and future of my day.

I live off the high of the thought of thinking that maybe I can meet someone that would like me for who I am tomorrow or that maybe I would get a raise at my job the next day. Maybe I could start eating healthy tomorrow and lose a few pounds at the end of the week.

I think I know what I want to do when I “grow up”, but I am not sure. I stress about having to pay future bills and wondering if I am still going to be single at age 30.

I hope to turn my grades around this semester, but know I never want to stay up for hours wasting my day in a book in the library. I really want good grades, but don’t know if I can make them. I stress.

Can you relate to me?

Aside from everything that I do, I am human. Aside from the fact that thousands of people read this blog, I mess up everyday. Even though I am writing a book and leading a university towards Christ, I sin.

We put people on pedestals and lower ourselves, we think that just because people do great things mean they have it all together and are living this celebrity life-style. We say we could only dream of being somebody as great as they are- you can be.

Even though every single one of those things attacks me everyday I live my life, I know God is going to use you and I. Even though you may struggle with even more than I do, God has a even bigger calling for your life. I am 19 and I struggle with those things and much more, but still have an awesome calling on my life.

If you’re struggling, you’re right where you need to be in your life. God is going to test you before He uses you. God wants to make sure that you can fully rely on Him before He gives you everything you want. Hang in there, you’re only human.

Exposing your weaknesses allows others to see the God inside you. Don’t be afraid to admit that you struggle, we all do. That’s why Paul wrote Romans 8. The more I make myself vulnerable, the more God is seen in me.

18 I consider that our present sufferings are not worth comparing with the glory that will be revealed in us. 19 For the creation waits in eager expectation for the children of God to be revealed.  -Romans 8:18-19

Tagged: , , , , ,

Comments are closed.

What’s this?

You are currently reading Truelife: I am human at Ericmsavage.com.

meta

