Past Writing

July 6, 2011 Comments Off on Past Writing

On November 11th, 2010 I wrote the following paragraph:

“There is nothing in this world that you can take from me, there is nothing that I have or want that you can take away from me to ever stop professing God’s name. You can take my school, my family, my grades, my clothes, my health, my intelligence, my body, and my money, but there is nothing you can take away from me that will ever separate me from the Love of Jesus. You can take my fraternity that I have worked so hard for, you can take her away from me, you can take Auburn, but you will never take me away from God. You are going to have to try a lot harder than this, even in your best effort on your best day you will not even make me flench in my faith in God. If you don’t believe me, then bring it on. I am ready to show my strength and faith in God like never before. My love and commitment to God extends far beyond even the human language, I will never bow to anyone but God.”

While you may not have even read that entire paragraph, understand this: Everything came to pass in that paragraph- minus Auburn. My girlfriend at the time ended up cheating on me after an entire year, I missed grades for my fraternity by less than .1, I really struggled with my health and fitness, I overspent money, and I was off away from my family at an out of state school.

Unlike humans, God always follows through on his promises, and certainly isn’t afraid to test you. We often like to make promises to God, fully expecting Him to never actually test us because we’re all such great christians- right?

We often like to tell God that if He rewards us with X, then we will start doing Y in our life. The problem is, none of us qualify to even be at the bargaining table with the creator of the universe.

The christian walk isn’t a game of chance, a bargaining chip, or a deck of cards with different values. Gods gift is salvation through Jesus Christ, a free gift. A gift that we don’t have to earn or qualify for, yet He expects us to use our gift.

Not take it out for a test drive and see what it can do, but instead walk with truth and love that Jesus died for us. Having spiritual swagger is key, we so often live like we owe God something. Walk with confidence knowing that you were bought with a price and God sees an infinite amount of potential in you, specifically, to accomplish the goals He has for your life.

DAN 9:18 Give ear, O God, and hear; open your eyes and see the desolation of the city that bears your Name. We do not make requests of you because we are righteous, but because of your great mercy. 
GAL 2:16 know that a man is not justified by observing the law, but by faith in Jesus Christ. So we, too, have put our faith in Christ Jesus that we may be justified by faith in Christ and not by observing the law, because by observing the law no one will be justified.
Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Comments are closed.

What’s this?

You are currently reading Past Writing at Ericmsavage.com.

meta

