Follow Jesus

August 3, 2011 Comments Off on Follow Jesus

  1. “I have decided to follow Jesus;
    No turning back, no turning back.
  2. Though I may wonder, I still will follow;
    No turning back, no turning back
  3. Though none go with me, still I will follow;
    No turning back, no turning back.”-“I have decided to follow Jesus”
As I laid on the couch for most of the day because I had my wisdom teeth out, this song kept playing over and over in my head. So I asked myself, what does it really mean to follow Jesus?
Here’s what I found.
Matthew 4:19 “Jesus called out to them, “Come, follow me, and I will show you how to fish for people!” Matthew 16:24 “Then Jesus said to his disciples, “If any of you wants to be my follower, you must turn from your selfish ways, take up your cross, and follow me.”
The most interesting thing is that Jesus asked his disciples on the spot, He wasn’t interested in them debating or saying goodbye to his family. Why? Jesus doesn’t have time to let you ponder a decision, He’s looking for someone that is ready to act now to change the world. Every second wasted debating whether or not to serve Christ in your life could be life or death to the person you are meant to witness to.
If Jesus couldn’t find someone that was willing to take the leap of faith to follow Him on the spot without giving a last hoorah of their life, He knew they’d never be faithful. I think so often times we decide we’re actually going to try the God thing, but we decide we want to party one last time, drink one last time, hook-up one last time before we try out God. God isn’t interested in being like a car you test drive, He wants all of you- instantly. 
Jesus knew that if they couldn’t trust Him with taking up to follow Him instantly then there would be no way they would ever be able to do the other things He would ask them to do.
Today, Jesus is asking you to take up your cross and follow Him. However, He isn’t interested in you making that last business deal to get your last paycheck- He wants you now. Jesus wants to know that He can trust you with the small things before He gives you the big tasks with the big blessings attached. The people with the biggest impact for the kingdom are the people that have to take the biggest leap of faith.
If you’re going to allow yourself to second guess and live in fear of following Jesus, you’re going to live your life wasting your time away sitting in Church never getting a vision to do the impossible for God.
esus replied, “If I want him to remain alive until I return, what is that to you? As for you, follow me.” -John 21:22

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Comments are closed.

What’s this?

You are currently reading Follow Jesus at Ericmsavage.com.

meta

