Actions and Words

August 10, 2011 Comments Off on Actions and Words

For if anyone is a hearer of the word and not a doer, he is like a man who looks intently at his natural face in a mirror.  -James 1:23

Throughout our life we constantly hear the phrase “actions speak louder than words”. We understand it. Take it to heart. File it in our mind and move on. Never applying it, consciously.

We, as christians, today are so good at speaking the bible, telling others we go to church, singing worship songs in the car, or telling people we are praying for them. But when do we ever actually take action?

There are situations in your life that are going to call you to be Jesus rather than speak Jesus. Nobody can BE Jesus, but you get the point.

Think about the last friendship/relationship in your life and how it ended. What do you remember? You probably remember the actions as of why the relationship ended rather than what was said. You remember what the person did you, rather than the apology. Why? Because your actions leave a lasting impact more than your words.

Sometimes we get so busy telling others about God that we forget to spend time with God, ourselves.  We get so caught up inviting people to church, writing blogs, counseling others, or listening to Pastors that we forget to have a personal relationship with Jesus. (All those things are extremely important to your walk, but that’s not the point of this post)

If I can write these blog posts, but do not live the very words I speak then what good is that? If my actions do not align with the words I speak, then what kind of a witness am I?

Before I die to others and love on them the way Christ loves me, I have to die to myself first and love me for me first. If you can’t love the person God has called you to be, you can’t love others the way you need to.

Tagged: , , , , ,

Comments are closed.

What’s this?

You are currently reading Actions and Words at Ericmsavage.com.

meta

