I love you, God

August 23, 2011 Comments Off on I love you, God

But because of his great love for us, God, who is rich in mercy, made us alive with Christ even when we were dead in transgressions—it is by grace you have been saved (Ephesians 2:4-5)

So it hit me the other day, when was the last time I told God I loved Him? I thank Him everyday for covering my sin, for blessing me with friends in my life, for giving me a great family, or for allowing me to attend a great school, but when was the last time I ever said “I love you”?

I didn’t know.

We try to love God the way we think He should be loved rather than the way He deserves to be loved. We think that just being thankful is enough love for God. Maybe occasionally dropping a few dollars in the offering plate will suffice. We have this common myth that God can use the other people; pastors, worship leaders, teachers, or rich people to do the work of His kingdom.

Wrong.

God loves you for you, He loves you specifically, He died just for you! The bible tells us “We love Him because He first loved us.” 1 John 4:9-10. God loved us before we even knew who He was. Why? Because He see’s infinitely more potential in our life and ability to love Him and others than we do ourselves.

God is a jealous God, He wants all of our love. “You shall not worship them or serve them; for I, the LORD your God, am a jealous God” Exodus 20:4-5. God telling us He is jealous isn’t because He is a cruel God, but because He wants us to know He has feelings too. He wants us to love Him as much as He loves us.

Love on God. Treat Him the way He deserves to be treated- the Creator of The Universe.

Tagged: , , , ,

Comments are closed.

What’s this?

You are currently reading I love you, God at Ericmsavage.com.

meta

