What Do You Want?

September 18, 2011 Comments Off on What Do You Want?

“Be careful what you think, because your thoughts run your life. Don’t use your mouth to tell lies; don’t ever say things that are not true. Keep your eyes focused on what is right, and look straight ahead to what is good. Be careful what you do, and always do what is right. Don’t turn off the road of goodness; keep away from evil paths. ” Proverbs 4:23-27

So as I was driving home today, it hit me: what keeps people from getting what they want in life?

Is it that they don’t have enough resources? Not enough connections? Lack of desire? Not the right degree? Wrong family upbringing? A bad spouse? Those things may contribute to it, sure, but I think there’s something more

In order to get what I want, I have to get rid of what I don’t want first. No, this isn’t about being shallow and self centered, but it’s about achieving what I want for the reasons God wants me to have it.

A few practical examples:

In order to look the way I want, I have to get rid of the body fat I don’t want. In order to buy a new outfit, I have to sell my older clothes to earn the money I need for the new outfit. In order to get a better credit score, I have to get rid of my debt first. In order to be the spouse I need to be, I need to get rid of my addiction first. To have a clean dorm room, I have to take out the trash…Get the point?

Sure it probably sounds much easier than it is in real life, but it’s much easier to achieve your goals with this mindset. In order to find true love, compassion, mercy, and joy- I have to rid myself of my worldly faith and realize that these things will only be found through Jesus. In order to become disciplined in my quiet or prayer time, I have to get rid of the distractions and train my mind to think on things above.

It’s a simple concept, but a tough realization: In order to achieve what I want, I have to get rid of what I don’t want first.

Comments are closed.

What’s this?

You are currently reading What Do You Want? at Ericmsavage.com.

meta

