Handyman

May 19, 2012 Comments Off on Handyman

A few weeks ago, I found out that something was wrong with my apartment that would require a maintenance worker to come by and fix. However, I wasn’t able to call for help because my apartment was too messy to have someone come over. I felt obligated to clean up my mess before I could ask for help because I was too embarrassed.

How many times in our lives do we feel like this is our life with God? We feel like we have an issue that we know we have messed up on, know we have committed sin, and need healing, but we’re too ashamed or embarrassed to ask God for help in the situation.

We allow ourselves to believe that we are too messed up, too “dirty” to be able to ask God for help. When in reality, we are at the perfect place to let God step into our lives. When we have nothing, God is up to something. It is the people that are the most broken that have the opportunity to become something greater if they are willing to give God the broken pieces.

So often we believe that we have to fix our mess or put our life back together before we can become closer with Jesus- when in reality He is the only thing that can.

So next time you feel like you have to fix the issue before you call for help from God, remember that He wants you just as you are, but doesn’t plan to leave you just as you are.

Why are you cast down, O my soul, and why are you disquieted within me? Hope in God; for I shall again praise him, my help and my God. By day the Lord commands his steadfast love, and at night his son is with me, a prayer to the God of my life. (Psalm 42: 5,8)


Tagged: , , , , ,

Comments are closed.

What’s this?

You are currently reading Handyman at Ericmsavage.com.

meta

