Set Sail

May 17, 2013 Comments Off on Set Sail

Image

After many years of college, I have come to a very valuable conclusion that I wish I could tell myself many many years ago.

I realized that I was living in a critical fallacy that I believe thousands, if not millions, of people still believe to this day.

It’s sort of a long and complicated problem, but bare with me as I explain it.

For many years of my life, I truly was living under the belief that I can attain friends in my life by simply succumbing to their interests. It was a subconscious habit that I didn’t even realize I was actually living out until recently. I saw all the “popular” people, the ones that everybody knew their name, doing something or being at a certain place. I believed that’s what I needed to do or be at that place doing those things to have their kind of attention attention. I believed that in order to attain the amount of friends or social standing they had, I simply needed to copy and paste what they did into my life and I could get to that same place.

I truly don’t believe it’s a conscious thing or decision you make, but it’s something that you might find yourself doing everyday if you simply analyze your own life.

So, am I merely saying the 100 year old question “If someone jumps off a cliff, are you going to do it too?” No.

It’s time to pause your life, think about where you’re headed, and either continue or set sail for a new destination.

To truly reach your God-given purpose and maximum impact on your world it requires a lot of thought and sacrifice.

Setting sail for a new era in your life requires that you head to sea alone, with no crew. It requires that you may not know exactly how to get where you want to go, but you’re going to trust God to fill your boat with the crew you need to succeed on your journey and fill your sails with the energy needed to reach your destination.

True and meaningful relationships always abide by the rule “like attracts like.”

Plain and simply, actually live out who you want to be and God will provide the people along side your life. Don’t be afraid to walk alone, know that the trail in your life is very long and has many opportunities for God to put someone(s) next to you.

Don’t be afraid to start by yourself, know that you won’t end alone.

Proverbs 13:20 Whoever walks with the wise becomes wise, but the companion of fools will suffer harm.

1 Corinthians 15:33 Do not be deceived: “Bad company ruins good morals.”

Tagged: , , , ,

Comments are closed.

What’s this?

You are currently reading Set Sail at Ericmsavage.com.

meta

